FRAUD ALERT: We have received reports of possible phishing incidents. Please be aware that you will only receive emails regarding your grant application from a wv.gov or bdo.com email address.​​


State Grants

​​​​​​​​​​​​In response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the United States Government and State of West Virginia have responded forcefully to support those affected by the emergency measures to prevent the spread of the virus. The following information contains all state-funded grants available due to the pandemic.

American Rescue Plan Act: Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Program Recovery Plan

Please click the link below to access West Virginia's CSLFRP Recovery Plan.
CSLFRP Recovery Plan 9-3-2021

American Rescue Plan Act Non-Entitlement Unity (NEU) Allocations

The American Rescue Plan Act (“ARP Act”) was passed by Congress and signed into law by President Biden on March 11th, 2021, authorizing approximately $1.9 trillion in federal stimulus funds to continue combating the COVID crisis. The core of the ARP Act’s aid to state and local governments are the Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds.

The State of West Virginia, its counties, and certain municipalities will receive direct transfers from the U.S. Department of Treasury for the amounts for which they are eligible. For other, smaller municipalities, Treasury has published a list of eligible “Non-Entitlement Units” (“NEUs”), which will have ARP allocations distributed by the State following a program designed by Treasury. The amount for which each NEU is entitled is based on factors provided in the ARP Act and further detailed in Treasury’s guidance and is not subject to any discretion by the State.

Click here to apply.


West Virginia CARES Act Residential Utility Grant Program

An eligible utility can apply to be a registered Vendor—without needing to pay the typical $125 fee for registration as a Vendor (Grant Applicants should choose the “Pay Fee Later” Button: see quick user guide: ​ ​https://prd311.wvoasis.gov/LoginExternal/Forms/CGI_Advantage_VSS_3.11_Registration_Guide.pdf)—in wvOASIS at https://www.wvoasis.gov/, and clicking “VSS.” During the registration process a W-9 will be required.

Eligible Utilities can access the application HERE.

Program Overview

1) The program is only for eligible residential customer accounts (not for commercial nor other customers).
2) Must have unpaid amounts due to COVID19 (loss of job, lower hours, as well as uncertainty and a desire to put off some payments and save money for necessary food or medicine in case of job loss or other negative economic impacts reasonably expected to result from the COVID-19 public health emergency.).
3) Eligible Period: For all bills issued from March 1st, 2020 through July 31, 2020. Bills issued prior to/after these dates are not eligible.
4) Eligible Balance: The unpaid amount accumulated for bill(s) issued during the Eligibility Period.
5) Must have outstanding unpaid balance, for the eligible period, at the utility at the time of submitting the information in grants.wv.gov. Cannot be reimbursed for paid accounts.
6)Late fees, penalties and interest are not eligible for reimbursement.
7) Customers with unpaid amounts and have a payment plan: If they meet criteria as noted above (#2) and have an Eligible Balance, can apply for this unpaid portion. They cannot be reimbursed or given credit for payments they have already paid on the payment plan.
8) Customers who were shut-off and did not do a payment plan: If they meet criteria as noted above (#2) and have an Eligible Balance, can apply for this unpaid portion.
9) If customer does not check a box, they will not be eligible. The utility may want to reach out to them and see if an incomplete application can be corrected.
10) How to handle a change in the balance after letter sent to customer: If the unpaid balance changes from time the utility sends notice to customer (payment made). The utility can only request the reduced amount for the customer.
11) If the eligible balance is less when the grant is received from the State, the difference will need to be returned to the State.
12) Inactive or terminated accounts where the customer moved: If they meet criteria as noted above (#2) and have an Eligible Balance, can apply for this unpaid portion. If contact can be made with the customer and they can complete and certify the application, they would be eligible. Even if such a customer has moved away, the customer will benefit from payment on their account because the customer will be better positioned to apply for new service and may avoid/reduce impact on their credit rating.
13) Each utility should identify the residential customers that meet the eligible criteria and send the application to only those customers. After the customers return the applications, the utility will apply for the grant on the portal.

Program Timeline

Program Timeline 

West Virginia CARES Act Small Business Grant Program

Governor Justice’s WV CARES Act Small Business Grant Program provides West Virginia’s small businesses—the backbone of the West Virginia economy—much needed relief by granting up to $5,000 to West Virginia small businesses that have been affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Small businesses are eligible if they:

  • Have less than 36 full-time employees based on the number of employees reported to WorkForce WV in your most recent filing prior to 3/1/2020.
  • Have their principal place of business in WV
  • Were qualified to do business in WV and in operation as of March 1, 2020
  • Are currently and intend to remain qualified to do business in WV and in operation for at least the next twelve months
  • Are in good standing with the State Tax Department and WorkForce West Virginia
  • Are a for-profit business
  • Are not in violation of any state order or decree (e.g., mine safety, DEP citations, etc.)
  • Are not presently suspended, debarred, proposed for debarment, declared ineligible, or otherwise excluded from participation in any federal grant program, and are not presently a debtor in any pending bankruptcy (including any owners of the business)
  • Have suffered eligible expenses and/or losses because of the COVID-19 pandemic

Eligible expenses and losses include direct out of pocket expenses, such as purchases of PPE for staff and costs of re-stocking inventory in order to reopen, as well as losses due to business closures, reduced sales, or suspended operations. A complete list of eligible expenses and losses is provided on the next page.

The process for applying for WV CARES Act Small Business Grant funds begins by becoming a registered Vendor in the wvOASIS system. You must be a registered Vendor to receive WV CARES Act Small Business Grant funds.

An eligible business can apply to be a registered Vendor—without needing to pay the typical $125 fee for registration as a Vendor (Grant Applicants should choose the “Pay Fee Later” Button: see quick user guide: ​https://prd311.wvoasis.gov/LoginExternal/Forms/CGI_Advantage_VSS_3.11_Registration_Guide.pdf)—in wvOASIS at https://www.wvoasis.gov/, and clicking “VSS​.” During the registration process a W-9 will be required. Businesses owned by individuals are required to provide the associated EIN (FEIN or SSN) that business is registered with.

We ask that any current vendors or those vendors who plan to continue to do business with the State in the future, to please sign up for electronic funds transfer (EFT), at https://www.wvsao.gov/ElectronicPayments/Default.

Other vendors who choose to not sign up for EFT, will receive a paper check which will be mailed to a physical address in West Virginia.


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1. Who is eligible?

Small businesses are eligible if they:

  • Have less than 36 full-time employees based on the number of employees reported to WorkForce WV in your most recent filing prior to 3/1/2020.
  • Have their principal place of business in WV
  • Were qualified to do business in WV and in operation as of March 1, 2020
  • Are currently and intend to remain qualified to do business in WV and in operation for at least the next twelve months
  • Are in good standing with the State Tax Department and WorkForce West Virginia
  • Are a for-profit business
  • Are not in violation of any state order or decree (e.g., mine safety, DEP citations, etc.)
  • Are not presently suspended, debarred, proposed for debarment, declared ineligible, or otherwise excluded from participation in any federal grant program, and are not presently a debtor in any pending bankruptcy (including any owners of the business)
  • Have suffered eligible expenses and/or losses because of the COVID-19 pandemic

2. I am in business for myself with no other employees, am I eligible for this grant?

Yes, the grants are limited to those meeting all the eligibility criteria listed above, including the requirement for having 35 or fewer employees based on the number of employees reported to WorkForce WV in your most recent filing prior to 3/1/2020. Sole Proprietors are exempt from the WorkForce WV requirement.

3. Are non-profit entities eligible for this grant?

No, the grants are limited to those meeting the eligibility criteria listed above, including that the company be a for-profit business.

4. What costs, expenses, or losses make my business eligible?

The following expenses, which have not otherwise been recovered through the federal PPP and EIDL programs, through private insurance, or otherwise, are eligible for WV CARES Act Small Business Grant funding:

  • Costs of personal protective equipment required by the business
  • Payment of any short term (less than 24 months) or credit card debt incurred by the applicant to pay eligible expenses
  • Expenses incurred to replenish inventory or other necessary re-opening expenses.
  • Costs of physical modifications or supplies for business to enable compliance with public health measures, requirements, or guidelines, including but not limited to:
    • Installation of drive-thru windows and items necessary to get a drive-thru operational, such as headsets, additional register, etc.
    • Vinyl/smooth surface furniture
    • Vinyl/hard surface flooring
    • Telework equipment and subscription service
    • Takeout/to-go merchandise
    • Website design/reconfiguration
    • Construction or installation of outdoor seating
    • Contactless equipment: doors, locks, gates, point-of-sale systems, and other equipment
    • Cleaning and sanitization supplies
    • Ozone generators, ozone meters, and dehumidifiers: only if documentation from CDC, WHO, EPA, or ADH can be provided stating it is effective in fighting COVID-19
    • Tablets and other easily sanitized computer equipment
    • Signage pertaining to reopening or restructuring the business to facilitate COVID-19 precautions
    • Bleachable towels and/or bedding
    • Supplies and furniture necessary to allow for spacing out employees and customers
    • Plexiglass and/or plastic barriers to separate employees and customers
    • Payment for third party licensed medical staff to perform COVID-19 screenings of employees
  • Costs related to business interruption due to COVID-19 required closures, which may include but are not limited to:
    • Reduced sales or suspended operations
    • Rent or mortgage payments (unless otherwise waived or forgiven by lessor/lender)
    • Utilities payments
    • Costs and Expenses for Payroll
    • Increased costs related to COVID-19 prevention measures
    • Disrupted supply network leading to shortage of critical inventory or materials

5. What is the award amount?

Grants of up to $5,000 will be awarded to eligible applicants.

Grants of up to $2,000 will be awarded to eligible sole proprietors.

6. How do I apply?

The application period has closed.

1. You must be a registered Vendor in the wvOASIS system to receive WV CARES Act Small Business Grant funds. ​Small businesses not currently a Vendor with the State see instructions below to register.
a. Once an established vendor with the State, that meets the eligibility criteria, submit a small business grant application. b. Please see the eligibility criteria on the West Virginia grants portal prior to attempting to apply for the grant – grants.wv.gov
2. Utilize your Vendor Code, previously assigned by the State, to register within the West Virginia grants application portal (grantsapp.wv.gov) and complete the Small Business Grant Program Application.
3. The application is final once it has been submitted.
4. Processed grant applications will take up to two weeks for review and approval. You will receive an email of award once your application has been approved.
5. Payment should be received up to three weeks after the application has been approved.
a. We ask that any current vendors or those vendors who plan to continue to do business with the State in the future, to please sign up for electronic funds transfer (EFT), at https://www.wvsao.gov/ElectronicPayments/Default.
b. Other vendors who choose to not sign up for EFT, will receive a paper check which will be mailed to a physical address in West Virginia.

Note: The timelines stated above are dependent on the volume of applications received within a given timeframe.

How to become a registered Vendor:

An eligible business can apply to be a registered Vendor—without needing to pay the typical $125 fee for registration as a Vendor—in wvOASIS at https://www.wvoasis.gov/ and clicking “VSS.” Small Business Grant Applicants should choose the “Pay Fee Later” Button:

  • During the registration process a W-9 will be required.
  • The process to verify small business information will take up to two weeks for review​ and you will receive an email once you have been approved or rejected.
    • Note approval as a small business does not equate to receiving the small business grant as you must still apply for the grant.
    • Small businesses owned by individuals, and do not have a TIN, will take additional time for their small business information to be verified​​

7. I am a vendor with the State but was not able to able to register in the Grants Application Portal to submit my application?
Please ensure that you are an eligible vendor based upon the criteria listed above.

8. Do I need to separately register in the Grants Application Portal if I have already registered as a Vendor in the State’s Vendor Self Service portal?

Yes, registration in the Vendor Self Service portal is the first step in filling out the WV CARES Act Small Business Grant Program application.

9. Do I need to enter all of the “zeros” when registering in the Grants Application Portal to submit my application?

Yes, all of the zeros in your Vendor ID Number are necessary for identification.

10. When will I receive my grant money?

We anticipate receiving thousands of applications for the West Virginia CARES Act Small Business Grant Program. Our team is working diligently to review the applications in order to distribute funds to eligible applicants in a timely manner. Thank you for your patience as we conduct the application reviews and process grant awards.

Applicants who receive a prequalification notice with their West Virginia Vendor ID Number email MUST complete the full application to receive funds.

11. How will I receive future updates about my grant status?

We will send email updates to you. You will receive these emails from WVSBGrant@wv.gov

12. How long will it take for me to receive my grant funds?

We anticipate payments will be completed approximately 3 weeks after a complete application is received from an eligible business. This is subject to change, dependent on the volume of applications received within a given timeframe

13. How do you define a “principal place of business”?

Your principal place of business is the location of your head office where the books and records are kept and/or management works. This test only applies to businesses who have an out-of-state office or presence.

14. What is an “affiliated business”?

As defined by the US Small Business Administration an “affiliated business” is defined as follows:

Generally, affiliation exists when one business controls or has the power to control another or when a third party (or parties) controls or has the power to control both businesses. Control may arise through ownership, management, or other relationships or interactions between the parties.

Control may be affirmative or negative. Negative control includes instances where a minority shareholder has the ability, under the concern's charter, by-laws, or shareholder's agreement, to prevent a quorum or otherwise block action by the board of directors or shareholders.

15. How long do I need to retain supporting documentation for the costs, expenses, or losses I have claimed on my application?

Supporting documentation related to the costs, expenses, or losses for which you are seeking grant funds in your Application must be maintained for 5 years.

16. Who should I contact for assistance applying for a Vendor ID Number?

Issues with the Vendor registration process on the wvOASIS system should be directed to the following:

Phone: 1-855-666-8823
Email: GrantTechSupport@wv.gov

17. Who should I contact for assistance in filling out applications and assembling my required information?

Applicants may contact the WV CARES Act Small Business Grant help desk at:

Phone: 1-833-94-GRANT
Email: WVSBGrant@wv.gov

Applicants may also contact WorkForce WV at 304-558-2451. Unless you are a sole proprietor, please note that paying unemployment compensation is a condition of the WV CARES Act Small Business Grant Program. If you have not paid into WorkForce WV, you are not eligible for this grant. Please Only call WorkForce WV if you think there is some type of reporting problem. If you have not paid into unemployment, WorkForce is unable to assist you.

Additionally, the West Virginia Small Business Development Center and the West Virginia Jobs and Investment Trust will be available to assist individuals with filling out applications.

The West Virginia Small Business Development Center coaches are available to answer questions and assist you through the application process. Information about regional coaches can be found at wvsbdc.com/coaches.

map

Bluefield State College Center
304-327-4406

Eastern Panhandle Center
304-380-3279

Huntington Center
304-932-0428

Jefferson County Development
Authority Center
304-728-3255

Summersville Center
304-553-2805

Upshur County
Development Authority Center
304-472-1757

West Virginia High Technology
Foundation Center
304-333-6751

West Virginia Northern Community
College Center
304-214-8973

Morgantown Center
304-945-3040

Putnam County Center
304-957-2017

Southern West Virginia Community
& Technical College Center
304-767-8127

West Virginia University Center
304-293-5839

West Virginia University/Parkersburg Center
304-424-8213

Charleston Center
304-957-2084

In-Tech Program Manager
304-932-9760

The West Virginia Jobs and Investment Trust is also available to answer questions and assist you through the application process at:

- Charleston Office:

  • Address: 1012 Kanawha Blvd.
    Charleston WV, 25301
  • Phone: 304-345-6200

- Fairmont Office:

  • Address: 1000 Galliher Dr.
    Fairmont WV 26554
  • Phone: 304-333-6828


Schedule of Eligible Expenses and/or Losses

  • The following expenses and/or losses, which have not otherwise been recovered through federal programs such as the PPP and EIDL, through private insurance, or otherwise, are eligible for West Virginia Small Business Grant funds:
  • Costs of personal protective equipment required by the business
  • Payment of any short term (less than 24 months) or credit card debt incurred by the applicant to pay eligible expenses
  • Expenses incurred to replenish inventory or other necessary re-opening expenses.
  • Costs of physical modifications or supplies for business to enable compliance with public health measures, requirements, or guidelines, including but not limited to:
    • Installation of drive-thru windows and items necessary to get a drive-thru operational, such as headsets, additional register, etc.
    • Vinyl/smooth surface furniture
    • Vinyl/hard surface flooring
    • Telework equipment and subscription service
    • Takeout/to-go merchandise
    • Website design/reconfiguration
    • Construction or installation of outdoor seating
    • Contactless equipment: doors, locks, gates, point-of-sale systems, and other equipment
    • Cleaning and sanitization supplies
    • Ozone generators, ozone meters, and dehumidifiers: only if documentation from CDC, WHO, EPA, or ADH can be provided stating it is effective in fighting COVID-19
    • Tablets and other easily sanitized computer equipment
    • Signage pertaining to reopening or restructuring the business to facilitate COVID-19 precautions
    • Bleachable towels and/or bedding
    • Supplies and furniture necessary to allow for spacing out employees and customers
    • Plexiglass and/or plastic barriers to separate employees and customers
    • Payment for third party licensed medical staff to perform COVID-19 screenings of employees
  • Costs of business interruption due to COVID-19 required closures, which may include but are not limited to:
    • Reduced sales or suspended operations
    • Rent or mortgage payments (unless otherwise waived by lessor/lender)
    • Utilities payments
    • Costs and Expenses for Payroll
    • Increased costs related to COVID-19 prevention measures
    • Disrupted supply network leading to shortage of critical inventory or materials
  • Note:
    • Funds must be expended in compliance with state and federal law.
    • Applicant must maintain supporting documentation for any expense or loss for which these WV CARES Act Small Business Grant funds are being sought for a period of 5 years.
    • The State of West Virginia has the right to audit the applicant based on their submitted expenses and/or losses.


The Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act

On March 27, 2020, the President signed into law the U.S. government’s Phase 3 aid package to provide relief due to the novel coronavirus (“COVID-19”) through the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (the “CARES Act”). The CARES Act authorizes approximately $2 trillion in federal stimulus funds to combat the crisis. This includes a number of programs to address the issues that states and local governments are facing as they work to protect their communities during this challenging time.

The core of the CARES Act’s aid to state and local governments is the $150 billion Coronavirus Relief Fund.

Amounts paid to States, the District of Columbia, U.S. Territories, and eligible units of local government are based on population as provided in the CARES Act. The CARES Act directs Treasury to use U.S. Census Bureau data for the most recent year for which data is available. As of 2019, West Virginia’s population of 1,792,147, or .0055 state share of the population, determined a maximum allocation of $1,250,000,000.00.

An application process will be utilized for reimbursement requests for necessary expenditures made for actions taken to respond to the public health emergency. The CARES Act identifies allowable uses of the funds provided. The relief funds are to be used to reimburse additional expenditures for the COVID-19 response that are not covered by a budget. Unfortunately, the replacement of lost revenue is an expressly prohibited use of the funds. Entities that meet eligibility requirements for reimbursements may access the required forms and instructions via the link and Application document below:

Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act Forms & Instructions.

State of West Virginia Monthly Coronavirus Relief Reimbursement Application